All I have to write are construction paper and Crayola markers.

by Amelia Kanan

I have eggs in my pocket.

I like to be prepared.

Yesterday, I wasn’t.

Prepared.

Wednesdays are always like that.

But it wasn’t Wednesday.

It was Thursday.

I had to be patient.

I actually like being patient.

No, I don’t.

That’s a lie.

I lie sometimes.

Usually about stupid things.

Like….

“I like being patient”

Or

“I like rainbows”

I hate rainbows.

Well, I don’t hate them.

I just don’t love them.

Like everyone else does.

Why does everyone get so excited?

For a rainbow?

Other things that I don’t love:

Unicorns.

Parades.

Balloons.

Fireworks.

Giant lollipops.

Giant anything.

There.

I said it.

Sometimes I feel supposed.

Like I’m “supposed” to do something.

Like I’m supposed to like rainbows or giants things.

Why?

I’m still nice.

And funny.

And fun.

I don’t like to feel supposed.

It makes me feel unfair.

To everyone.

And to me.

Devious.

I don’t like that.

Just like I don’t like rainbows.

