Cookies, for a Dead Woman

by AlwaysJustMe

Banana Cookies with Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chips

I have this weird thing with dead celebrities. I, naturally, blame Catholic grade school. It was there that a teacher told me that whenever I wanted to talk to someone who was dead, all I had to do was think of them and BOOM, they’d be right next to me…listening and watching. This, not only terrified me for years to come but also made me think of all the famous dead people with whom I wanted to talk to or hang out with. I remember when Jackie Onassis (my model for life) died, I had this weird bittersweet feeling. Part of me was sad that she and I would never sail together but the other part of me was excited to be able to actually talk to her whenever I wanted. I told myself it was for her benefit: “She probably feels really lonely and scared, being dead and all.” Somehow, that made me feel less crazy…

I’m not sure how necessary that backstory is because #1 Jackie was an extreme case and #2 Julia Child, my muse for today, never had that sort of impact on me. However, I did really like the movie Julie & Julia (although, Julia would have not). Seriously though, what I do love about Julia is how she brought quality and artful cooking into the domestic kitchen. She taught us that you don’t have to fly to Paris to eat a Poulet au Porto, in fact you don’t even have to leave your house (unless you need to go to the market for your ingredients).

Being the kitchen lover that I am, I felt some sort of obligation to honor her memory and what better way than to cook something new. As I stated in my previous Guilt Pleasure Fridays: Yummies! post, I’ve been wanting to make baking apart of my routine. I haven’t baked since I blogged that and I’ve already broken two promises to living people over things I would bake. So, this morning when I woke up, I made a promise to Julia…(see, I did have a reason for over sharing about my talking to dead celebrities). I told her “I promise to bake something new today.” My day didn’t go as planned and after being gone since 8am, I easily could have bailed on Jules. I was hungry and tired when I got home at 5:30pm, had worked all day, still had more writing to do and excuse after excuse etc. But because Julia, my dead celebrity who, because I had thought of, was listening and watching me since I had to to stay true to my word (see how loyal I am?). And regardless if she really actually was watching me or not, I’m really glad I took the time and made the effort because it really, truly made my evening enjoyable and surprisingly, relaxing. Not to mention, it was an excuse to invite one of my favorite flavor connoisseurs over to lend his invaluable critique.

Here’s the link to the recipe with a few of my own amendments:

Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies:

-1/2 Almond Meal and 1/2 Whole Wheat Flour

-Stevia instead sugar

-1/2 Semi-sweet chips and 1/2 Peanut Butter chips

-Melted some semi chips and pb chips and drizzled on top

Notes:

The consistency was a bit crumbly but not to the point of messiness. They weren’t crazy sweet yet they can scratch your sugar itch.

