Recipe For The Weak

by AlwaysJustMe

Thai Red Curry Chicken on top of Cauliflower "Rice"

No, I didn’t misspell “weak”. I’m sick. It’s not a big deal, just a head cold with some aches but…I have to admit that I am kind of a baby about it. The only two things I need when I’m sick are 1-Hugs (let’s be honest, I need those even when I’m not sick) and 2-spicy comfort food, i.e. Indian or Thai.

Today, I was craving some spicy Thai Red Curry Chicken to sweat these sinuses dry. I wanted to pour that nice creamy sauce over some extra fluffy rice BUT that’s not an option. Or is it?

By staying true to my eating routine, I made a hit-the-right-spot meal, Red Curry Chicken with Calliflour “Rice”. And even though my sinuses are still stuffed, I’m pretty content. If you try it, I hope you enjoy!

Cauliflower “Rice”

1 head of Cauliflower

1 medium Onion chopped finely

1 cup celery chopped finely

3 Tbs of olive oil

Heat oil on medium in a skillet and put the onion in for about 10 minutes (until translucent). Meanwhile, put the cauliflower in a food processor using the “S” blade until it looks grainy, like rice. Add the celery to the skillet and cook until the green color changes. Add the cauliflower and cook for another 10 minutes or so depending on how well you want it done. Salt/Pepper/Spice/Soy Sauce to taste.

Red Curry Chicken (You can use other meat or fish, I just prefer the chicken)

2 breasts of boneless/skinless chicken diced

2 cups of coconut milk

3 Tbs of red curry paste

1 Red Pepper sliced

1 can of bamboo shoots

1 red chili pepper chopped

1 Tbs fish sauce

1 1/2 tsp of honey

1 handful of Sweet Basil Leaves

In a wok bring 1 cup of the coconut milk to a boil and add the red curry paste. Whisk to get all the lumps out. Add the red pepper and the chicken and cook it until the chicken is done. Next add the rest of the coconut milk, bamboo shoots, red chili, fish sauce and honey. Mix well. Then take your handful of Basil and your kitchen scissors and snip it into the wok. Mix and cook for another ten minutes and serve.

