It’s hard out here for a Pitch.

by AlwaysJustMe

Don't boss me.

As I’m forced to be my own employment pimp for photography/writing gigs, it has led me to look back on how far I’ve come in my personal journey with sales and “the pitch”.

I’ve always had a hard time selling things. As a child, with a lemonade stand, I gave more than half of the product away for free and apologized for the taste (even though no one complained about it). In high school, while giving a persuasive speech on why no one should drink cow’s milk, I admitted that I, myself, drank it and in College, all of my pitches for television shows were weak. “Umm, well, this guy, who could totally be a female character too but I like the name ‘Davison’ for the lead but we could change it to ‘Davie’…Actually, on second thought, that might be sweet to have a lead female character with the name ‘Davie’…” If it wasn’t a tangent that I would run on with, then I would present a foggy vision without enough details or maybe too many details but no character/story arcs. There were a few reasons as to why my pitching skills weren’t strong. Lack of attachment to the ideas, disinterest in television itself, I wasn’t motivated to impress anyone in the television department because I was more impressed by the film department, etc. Ironically, I ended up doing quite well in the television department once I allowed my disinterest in everyone surrounding me to become a positive thing and surprise, surprise, I ended up loving television.

That was a long time ago and even though my pitching skills have matured a bit, there are still a few internal things that need to be within myself in order for my presentations to be solid. Knowledge, confidence and investment or “something to lose” (pride, money, employment, etc.). Having these three things, I feel that people will benefit from what I am “selling” them. I need to feel as though I am doing them a favor. Which, is what a true salesman believes.

 

