Rainy Days and Mondays, they don’t get me down.

by AlwaysJustMe

I know…it’s Wednesday. BUT, I do love Mondays. I woke up to rain! I feel like only East Coasters and MidWesterners who live in Southern California are elated for such a thing. I’m excited for two reasons. #1 It’s been so hot and was ready for a change of season and #2 Soccer practice is cancelled! I do love coaching the little ones that crave my skills but they also can be exhausting and suck the life out of you.

Last week was a rough one, for me. I was in such a slump and could not, for the life of me, figure out why. I had work, was busy, making money, had alone time, had good socializing and every thing seemed good and yet I was still so gloomy. My work outs were horrible, I was lathargic (literally, I went to bed at 8:45 one night) and eating like crazy – indulging cravings that I haven’t desired for a long time, i.e. pizza, chips and salsa, brownies, bread. If you’re a female, you might recognize this pattern. It’s so weird how our bodies work. The funny thing, even though it’s clockwork and consistently the same behavior month after month, I still manage to forget. Instead of looking at the calendar and reminding myself of science and being a woman, I rather made myself feel worse by saying it’s because I wasn’t working out or eating right. That’s always my default, if I’m feeling shitty I tell myself it has something to do with one of those things. I want to shake that. I hate that. It’s not proactive and only carries negative consequences.

Suffice it to say, I was so relieved to wake up yesterday and have it all behind me. After I got on the scale and saw that I had lost all those little extra water weight pounds, I was so grateful that I ended up putting in a serious day of fitness. Not to mention, my normal appetite was back and I went to bed feeling pretty again. I need to keep the momentum up. Right now, I’m getting ready for a run and then tonight I’m going to my first Cardio Barre class. I was already nervous and then I talked to a friend this morning who only unleashed a swarm of butterflies into my stomach about the whole sitch. She said it was so hard. I’m freaked out but in a good way. However, I’m totally not going to the Hollywood or Beverly Hills locations because even if they may be more convenient, I feel way more comfortable going to the valley location. Not that the women there will be any different for some reason, it makes me mentally feel better. Anyway, I’m ready for a new challenge and not to mention new people! Here’s to a much happier week!

