Today was a good day.

by Amelia Kanan

Now I have Ice Cube in my head.

This morning, I had coffee, chatted with my current housemate and made it to  the gym at a decent morning hour. I was on my way into my third mile when my headphones went silencio. I get so annoyed using my phone as my ipod because this happens when people call, it messes up my rhythm. I rolled my eyes while i had to run in silence for a moment. Once it came back on, I smiled and wiggled my shoulders, shaking off the agravation. Sweating everywhere and trying to stay focused, my phone rings again. Same person. 2 more times. I’m so bothered, I slam my hand down on the STOP button, yank my headphone cord out of my phone and answer.

“Oh. my. GOD! What?!”

“I got you a job.”

“Oh, my god.”

“It’s photographing a wedding, this weekend.”

“Whoa. Ok. Wait. Who? How? When?”

“She loved your website and wants you. I’ll give her your number if you’re interested but I really think you should do it. I think it would be good for you.”

“Yeah. Definitely. Thank you. I really really appreciate it.”

So, just like that, I got a gig and it just so happened I was going to a friend’s house for brunch, who is a seasoned wedding photographer. We drank coffee, ate fruit and went for a nice long walk in the sun. For the past year, she’s been in a similar sitch as I have. Unemployed, unsure and broke so it was nice to be with someone who could relate.

Day by day. Day by motha*&@#in’ day.

